Skip to content

Opening A Vein

09/11/2011

Nan gave me some excellent advice in one of her comments on this blog. She said:

Mike, Nanowrimo is not about going back and editing; it’s called the dirty first draft for a reason. You’re supposed to be exploring the stories of your characters, just pushing ahead as hard as you can, when you can. If one thread isn’t panning out, then move on to another one. Feel free to write out of order.

You have some very interesting characters  and they might get into some situations that you ultimately don’t use in the finished novel, but don’t let that stop you from writing them. I think of it as “opening a vein.” Just don’t think about it too much.

So that’s what I did. I’ve just written 1,450 word in a chapter called “The Empath Less Travelled By”. It’s not the next chapter in the sequence but it’s where my emotions where at. I wanted to understand more about Elodie and her relatioship with Cassandra and what she knows about the Director of the SCP.

Now that I’ve found those things out, I’m going to have to write a chapter for the Director as well. I’m not sure what it will say yet but I’m certain it will be interesting (to me at least) to find out.

Perhaps that’s what I need to get through this first draft, to keep satisfying my own curiosity. The clever stuff can come later.

So now I have 9,401 words. Of course that means that it will take me almost up to Christmas to finish this rough draft at this rate. But that’s a lot better than not finishing it at all.

Thanks , Nan. I appreciate it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. NanA permalink
    09/11/2011 5:46 am

    I’m so glad it worked for you. I’m really enjoying your work as it moves along.

Leave a Reply

