Skip to content

So now it’s getting harder

07/11/2011

No new chapters this weekend. I needed to take some time out and have a life.

The next two weeks at work are scarily busy.

I’m already wondering if I started the novel in the wrong place and need to go back and fix it.

These are all flavours of the reasons why I’ve never written a novel before.

I’m hoping that NaNoWriMo will give me enough of a push to keep going anyway. Afterall, 50,000 words is a shortish novel, right.

According to the stats section on the NaNoWriMo site at this rate I won’t finish until December 14th and to catch up I need to write 1,753 words a day for the next 24 days.

Well I guess that’s good to know.

So now I have to stop procrastinating, get some work done and then make to time write some more of “Blood, Flesh and Fear”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. blogmefast permalink
    07/11/2011 7:49 am

    I suspect that all forms of creations get harder in the middle of the work. At the beginning everything is smooth, then it gets harder. But that is the idea. No hardship no creation ! Good courage !

  2. NanA permalink
    08/11/2011 1:44 am

    Mike, Nanowrimo is not about going back and editing; it’s called the dirty first draft for a reason. You’re supposed to be exploring the stories of your characters, just pushing ahead as hard as you can, when you can. If one thread isn’t panning out, then move on to another one. Feel free to write out of order.

    You have some very interesting characters and they might get into some situations that you ultimately don’t use in the finished novel, but don’t let that stop you from writing them. I think of it as “opening a vein.” Just don’t think about it too much.

    I think you’re doing some excellent work. It’s not polished, no, but it is exciting and that is more important.

    • 08/11/2011 4:45 am

      Thank you for the encouragement. I know that you’re right. I’m trying to keep with the flow of the story and the people. I can do the rest if when I’ve managed to get everything on the page. If all goes to plan, i get to start writing again today..

      Thanks for dropping by

Leave a Reply

